top of page

Pivot Your Life



Has 2020 been a year or what? Everyone has been wishing away this year to get a fresh start in the next. And while I can understand the sentiments behind that, I hope we can take some good nuggets and precious memories from this year.


I want to challenge you to think of what you did this year and give yourself credit for doing something you hadn’t thought you could do, something you did that you hadn’t expected, something you surprised yourself by doing. One for me was how calm I stayed. I haven’t shared a huge change that happened to me just a few months ago that I would like to share now.


I took the day off to travel home to celebrate my sister’s birthday. And about hallway there (as it’s a four hour drive) I got a text from my supervisor that I needed to get on a call in like an hour. Problem was, I didn’t have any of my work devices with me to even join the call. I had to have a coworker hold up her cell phone to the computer so I could listen in. (Props and many thanks Dana!) And that’s when my team was told we were being split up and moved to different roles within our department. I had not been prepared for that. I’m out of town and find out my job is no longer my job. I understood the necessity of it, but that doesn’t mean my feelings did. And yet I’m really proud of myself. I kept a calm composure. Granted, I let my frustration and emotions get the best of me once or twice in the weeks that followed, but I didn’t wallow in it. I wasn’t holding a grudge. COVID wasn’t as big of deal for me as this job change and I held it together. That is something I would never have thought I could do with such a sudden life change.


So even if you have to stretch your memory, think of something you can pat yourself on the back for doing this year.


And now I want you to think about the new year. I saw someone use the word pivot recently and it hit me that maybe that’s what we need to do this new year. Pivot away from the emotions and burdens of 2020 and let’s shift our focus to the new. New chances, new opportunities, new goals. We can do more than we ever thought we could before. You have more strength and courage in you than you know. But you won’t discover it without giving yourself a push. Put some challenging goals on your plate in 2021. Attack those goals with passion and a belief that you can. 2021 is your new year. A chance to pivot your life.


*And if you need something to help you follow through with goals, feel free to check out my digital goal planner!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page