top of page

Living an Unfake Life


Living life in the outside world can be a harrowing task sometimes. Especially in today's society where many are acting as judge and jury. It feels unsafe to speak your mind if it doesn't align with the loudest voices. It feels like many are living a fake life out in the world.


I have worked in a place where I didn't feel safe speaking my opinion or beliefs. I saw people ostracized for not being one of the crowd. Bullies do not disappear after high school. Now I wasn't necessarily bullied (as some others were), but I was shunned. I wasn't invited to outings outside of work (and quite frankly that was okay, because it wasn't my type of fun). People in leadership over me would boldy state their opinions and practically defy you to disent. They spoke as if to challenge them would be wrong and it felt like you would not only be judged, but treated poorly if you did disagree. What a toxic environment.


It weighs on you to not feel heard or know that if they (whoever they may be) truly knew you, they would hate you. I don't use the word hate lightly. Too many people want to bully others into agreeing with them. They don't want their opinions challenged.


But what if they need to be challenged? What if they need to hear truth? Angry people are usually doing one of two things: hiding from their issues, or hiding from themselves. They tend to be the loudest to drown out their own inner voice calling them out on what is going on in their lives or what they have been/are doing that isn't healthy.


We don't have to challenge them directly. We don't even have to say a word. The best way to show who you are and what you believe in, is through your actions. Living your life based on your faith, your beliefs, is the best statement a person can make. I am pretty sure those same people from work knew I wasn't one of them. I wouldn't do as they would do. I wouldn't say as they said. I didn't push back, I just didn't change myself and my actions for them.


The outside world can put a lot of pressure on you to do as they do and say as they say. But please remember, you have the right and responsibility to live by what you believe, not what others direct to believe. You have the free will to make your own decisions on how you will act, how you will respond, and how you will speak with others.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page