top of page

Belief in the Unknown

Updated: Nov 8, 2018

“I know there is no turning back once my feet have left the ledge. And in the rush I hear a voice that's telling me to take a leap of faith. So here I go.”

-Steven Curtis Chapman, “Dive”




Leaps of faith are hard. That’s it. I can’t make that any prettier. They are some of the scariest moments in your life.

I had Taco Bell today and two of the sauce packets (mild because I am a wimp) had messages for me. They dealt with leaps of faith. One that while I know I am going to do, I am scared to make that jump. The packets said:


“Just the beginning” and “You should at least try”


Great timing, God! It was what I needed to see. It’s not the first thing He has said to me; it’s been an ongoing conversation right now, but the fact that He’s even telling me this through sauce packets, is not only hilarious, but a call to walk to the edge and jump.

Indiana Jones might not be afraid of much of anything but snakes, but in The Last Crusade, he had to take a leap from a lion’s head. His father was dying and the only thing that could save him was on the other side of that canyon. So without knowing what would happen, he put his foot out and took a step. Turns out there was a ledge masked by camouflage and he was able to safely pass.

I feel like that is our lives so often. When we finally take that step, where we think we will fall or fail, and find that it wasn’t as scary as we made it out to be. We find that we could do it all along because God is with us.

Leaps of faith can only happen when you believe in something or someone enough to trust.

Leaps of faith are believing in the unknown. Your first one is accept Christ as your savior.

That He died on a cross for your sins. That He rose three days later. To acknowledge that your sins are forgiven through His sacrifice.

I did that when I was four years old. Some might say I didn’t know what I was saying, but I still remember what it meant to me, then and throughout my life. I have never questioned God’s existence. He has always been present for me. I couldn’t understand how other’s just didn’t feel Him, didn’t see His work in everything. I’m not saying I’m some great Christian. Believe me, my struggles came in the things that happened in my life. I didn’t question His existence, but by golly, I questioned what the heck He was doing. I railed at Him plenty of times, but I never thought He just didn’t exist. That is so foreign to me. No matter what I have been through, I still know He is with me.


“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”
- Hebrews 11:1


That is the ultimate definition of belief in the unknown: certain of what we do not see. I will tell you, all those times I thought it was God’s fault that I was in my predicament, He showed me how He had helped me because it was my choices that got me there. But it could have been worse. He was still guiding me even as I went astray. It is usually easier to blame others, but truly if we question God’s existence, it comes from an uncomfortable place of not wanting to acknowledge our own mistakes.

Our belief in the unknown needs to stand against our insecurities.

Draw on the truth that God is unchanging and that He loves you unconditionally. Because this is an area that Satan would use to draw you further away from the One who loves you most and died just for you.


“We owe God the absolute abandonment of our ‘yes’.”

- Bill Johnson


Questions and Challenges:

- When have you questioned God? How was it resolved?

- Make a list of the times God has come through for you. These are markers that help us remember God's goodness and presence. Think about journaling for a place tor reflect when you need to remember.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page